Third outsider gets Parliament entry from state

iLA Ganeshan become the third outsider to represent Madhya Pradesh in the Upper House, With the BJP nominating Tamil Nadu leader iLA Ganeshan in the coming Rajya Sabha bypolls.

Union minister of state for external affairs MJ Akbar and Union HRD minister Prakash Javadekar are the two other outsiders representing the state in the Rajya Sabha. The party has sent outsiders to represent Madhya Pradesh in the Upper House, In a state where BJP has been in power for three consecutive terms with an impressive majority in the assembly.

Madhya Pradesh has 11 seats in the Rajya Sabha. Union minister of external affairs Sushma Swaraj, represents Vidisha constituency in the Lok Sabha, is also not a resident of the state. Other members from the state are renowned lawyer and Congress MP Vivek Tankha, Union minister for social justice Thawar Chand Gehlot, BJP national vice-president Prabhat Jha, Union minister of state for environment and forests Anil Madhav Dave, former chief minister Digvijaya Singh, veteran BJP leader Satyanarayan Jatiya, Congress leader Satyavrat Chaturvedi and state BJP leader Meghraj Jain.