The Political India
Budget Business National Others

Economist Surjit Bhalla Resigns from PM’s Economic Advisory Council

Bhalla, who will continue his mainstream media work, joined when the group was set up in September 2017.

New Delhi: Economist and newspaper columnist Surjit Bhalla on Tuesday stated that he had quit as a part-time member of Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s economic advisory council (PMEAC).

“I resigned as part-time member PMEAC on December 1st; also look for my book Citizen Raj: Indian Elections 1952-2019,” Bhalla tweeted on Tuesday morning.

According to government sources, his resignation has been accepted by the Prime Minister.

Bhalla, according to his tweet, will continue to be a contributing editor at The Indian Express and has joined as a consultant for the Network18 Group.

His resignation comes on the heels of a series of exits by government economists over the last year. This includes former Niti Aayog boss Arvind Panagariya, former chief economic adviser Arvind Subramanian and former RBI governor Urjit Patel.

The PMEAC was set up in September 2017 by Modi as a five-member panel. It is currently headed by senior economist and Niti Aayog member Bibek Debroy and also includes other members like Rathin Roy, Ashima Goyal, Shamika Ravi and Ratan Watal.

The council identified ten areas for reviving growth and employment such as jobs, monetary policy, public spending and agriculture.

According to people with knowledge of the matter, Bhalla helped draft a report on employment months before his exit.

This report, sources say, has been criticised through feedback given by third-parties such as Mahesh Vyas of Centre for Monitoring Indian Economy (CMIE).


Courtesy : The Wire

Related posts

Why YES Bank stock is the top Sensex, Nifty gainer today

Aditi Sharma

“ABVP, You Can Do Better”: It’s Prashant Kishor Versus BJP

Editor ThepoliticalIndia

All Petrol Pumps in Delhi to Remain Shut Today Over Govt’s Refusal to Cut VAT on Fuel Price

Nisha Bansal

Amritsar train accident: PM Modi expresses grief, Piyush Goyal cuts short trip

Mayank Jain

Twitter appoints Manish Maheshwari as Managing Director of its India operations

Nisha Bansal

Deep depression intensifies into cyclonic storm Titli; IMD issues red alert in Odisha

Mayank Jain